You Gotta Read

” Jacket Not Required” via The Wall Street Journal.

There are so many good points made in this article I don’t even know where to start. I should say that my initial reaction is that on a whole it addresses only a small part of a much larger problem, many guys aren’t growing up and being men. At 25 I’m smack dab in the middle of this problem and I’m not saying that I’m part of the solution or anything.. Lord knows I like ratty Vans Authentics, a pair of jeans and a t-shirt more than anything. However when the occasion calls for it I’m more than happy to don the appropriate attire that tradition suggests. I don’t believe it has anything to do with economic status or breeding as some do. I believe the lack of desire to “dress up” for many guys stems from the fear of “joining the herd” and essentially losing one’s youthful style. To them I would say look at the number of guys in the midwest dressing like surfers thanks to mall culture or number of guys in major metropolitan areas dressing like lumberjacks(a romanticized version anyway, I know reals ones who’d laugh at the urban idea of a lumberjack). If you want to stand out and impress(a boss, a date, parents, you name it) you don’t rebel and underdress. Set yourself apart, don that slim suit and own it like the man you are damn it. Dip your toe into the sartorial world. Check out How To Talk To Girls At Parties, Gilt Manual, A Continuous Lean, The Trad, and 10Engines. These sites ought to get you started and while I don’t always agree with the ideas they put forward, they’ll damn sure get the wheels turning.

Leave a Reply

